Skip to content

Managing files

This section describes how files are managed, stored, transferred and downloaded. The following topics are included in this section:

Manage files

Files are created when device tasks are executed and can be viewed on the Manage files page. Device tasks are defined within the template, but not all tasks produce a file. See Template Library.

Available device tasks can be:

  • Added to profiles and run via the UI.

  • Scheduled to run at specified times through a profile.

  • Executed immediately through the Device detail page or profile.

Manage files table

The information presented in the table includes:

Heading Description
Timestamp Date and time the file was created.
Device Device name the task was created against.
Size Download file size.
Type File type relating to the task run.
Message Additional information about the file.
Missing? If the checkbox is ticked, it means the file is no longer available but the entry still exists in database to record that it once existed.
Actioned by Name of the user who executed the task.
Save icon Allows you to download and save the file.

Disk usage and freeing up disk space

The disk usage bar(s) provides a breakdown of how the disk space is being used and the amount of free space available.

All files are stored locally as default unless an external disk has been configured, in which case all device files and Session Recordings will be stored on the external disk. See External Filestore.

When disk space reaches 80% full, an amber warning message will appear on the Admin Interface. When it reaches 90% full, you will get a red error message.

To free up disk space:

Transferring files to and from devices

Files can be moved in the following ways:

Single sign-on to SFTP clients

When included in the device template, the SFTP tool can be added to profiles associated with the device. This allows users in the profile to single sign-on to an SFTP client, allowing the movement of files.

Privileged task automation for file upload and download

When included in the device template, tasks for uploading and downloading files can be added to a profile or carried out on the device in the Admin Interface.

Restricted access to RDP drive mapping and RDP clipboard for Windows servers

When a remote desktop tool is included in a template, RDP drive mapping and RDP clipboard can be enabled.

Select Allow RDP Drive Mapping to expose the drives in an RDP session, allowing users to copy files from the UI to the RDP session.

Select Allow RDP Clipboard to allow users to copy data to the clipboard.

Note

For more information on these methods, see Manage Profiles.

Downloading a file

To download a single file:

  1. Click the Save icon at the end of each row. The file download status notifications will be displayed.

    File download notification

  2. Now click on the Shared Drive icon icon located in the top right hand corner.

    Shared drive banner

  3. The Shared Drive window will open. You will see the file copied to the Shared Drive folder is listed within the Shared Drive window.

    Shared Drive folder download

  4. To download the file to your local machine simply click on the file within the Shared Drive window. The file will be downloaded by the browser.

To download multiple files:

  1. Highlight a number of files, then right-click and select Save Download from the context menu. The file download status notifications will be displayed.

  2. You will be asked if your downloads have started. Click Yes, if all the files selected are being downloaded. The files will be downloaded individually.

  3. If you have selected multiple files and only a single file is downloading, then click No. The following Note window will appear.

    File download note window

    Amend browser settings to ensure pop-ups are not blocked before continuing.

  4. Now click on the Shared Drive icon icon located in the top right hand corner.

    Shared drive banner

  5. The Shared Drive window will open. You will see the files copied to the Shared Drive folder are listed within the Shared Drive window.

    Shared Drive folder download

  6. To download the files to your local machine simply click on the files within the Shared Drive window. The files will be downloaded by the browser.

    Note

    The user access role can only download files if they are given permission to the Download file(s) task through a profile.

Deleting a file

Deleting a file permanently removes the file.

To delete a file from the Manage files page, right-click on an individual file and then click Delete icon.